100 years ago: the sinking of the Léon Gambetta


It was exactly 100 years ago, during the night from 26 April to 27 April 1915. A few miles from the shores of Italian Apulia, close to Leuca to be more precise, French cruiser Léon Gambetta was sunk by two torpedoes fired by Austro-Hungarian submarine U5, under the command of Georg von Trapp (portrayed below)

I’ve almost never written anything about this tragedy in this blog (except for a post about a beautiful portrait of a sailor of this ship), but I’ve written several articles about this sinking (including this one in French), which caused the death of 681 sailors and officers.

I had the honor to be invited this week-end for the commemoration of the loss of this ship in Apulia, and I held a conference about it. This post was prepared before my departure, I’ll show you pictures of the ceremony once I’ll be back home!

gambetta7

Leave a Reply

