British Gun Carrier Mark I, a.k.a. supply tank


I was searching some nice material for today’s post in Le Pays de France 1918-1919 edition and I stumbled upon these two pictures of a British tank I didn’t know. They were described in this magazine as supply tanks. This made sense, as the one below has “SUPPLY” written on its side…

supply-tanks-1

A quick search on the Web allowed me to discover that these tanks were British Gun Carrier Mark I. These tanks were conceived as pieces of propelled artillery (with 5-inch or 6-inch guns) , but these vehicles were ultimately only used as supply tanks.

supply-tanks-2

Leave a Reply

